We are ultimately committed to evaluating the integrity of our sources and maintaining the highest standards with our partnerships and our products.
All of our products are made with all non-gmo ingredients. Our chocolate includes a small amount of European non-gmo soy lecithin which is used as an emulsifier.
We source local and organic ingredients whenever we can. Some of the organic ingredients we use are sugar, cream, butter, tapioca syrup, lemon juice, ginger, hazelnuts, almonds and macadamia nuts.
Fair Trade is one way of evaluating if farmers and producers are getting a fair price for a crop. Fair Trade looks at a variety of social and environmental criteria, and certifies a producer of a product. However, quality is not one of the criteria. Therefore Fair Trade, although a trusted system by many companies around the globe, is not an appropriate measure for the chocolate that goes into Fran's products. Since, we purchase chocolate that is made with the highest quality beans available - the chocolate makers that we work with are paying prices for cacao that are well above "fair-trade" standards. For more information, or for our full sourcing statement, please contact us.
We have several confections with ingredient lists free of animal products. Try our dark chocolate almond trios, apricots in dark chocolate, organic ginger in dark chocolate, orange confit in dark chocolate, pistachio marzipan, yuzu or lemon marzipan, spiced macadamia nuts, almonds in dark chocolate, caramelized nuts and nibs, Palermo 64% bars, nibbits in dark chocolate, raspberry dessert sauce, dark hot chocolate (when prepared with water), or any of our dark chocolate bars, thins or seasonal molded dark chocolates such as our santas, hearts, pumpkins, and turkeys.
We are happy to provide you with as much information as you and your doctor may need to make an informed decision. We do not want to deprive anyone of our confections unnecessarily! Please call us at 206.322.0233 for a complete ingredient list, allergen results from laboratory tests and answers to any questions you may have. We have a licensed and registered dietician on staff to assist you with your inquiries.
We do not use any gluten containing ingredients in our confections. We submitted our truffles, caramels and chocolate covered fruit to the Food Allergy Research and Resource Program (FARRP). No detectable levels of gluten were found (<5ppm).
Most of our confections contain soy lecithin. According to research completed by the Food Allergy Research and Resource Program (FAARP), soy lecithin does not contain sufficient soy protein to provoke allergic reactions in the majority of soy allergic individuals. We recommend you discuss with your doctor if soy lecithin is safe for you.
We process macadamias, almonds, hazelnuts, peanuts and coconut in our facility. We take pride in the cleanliness of our production facility but it is possible our confections may contain traces of these nuts.
Milk & Eggs
Our truffles and caramels contain dairy in the form of butter, milk or cream. Our solid milk and white chocolates contain milk. None of our confections contain eggs.